Simple Kale, Butternut Squash and Eggplant

This dish was inspired by my desire to bring a little health to my Passover Seder. I needed something easy to make but also hearty and delicious. It looks pretty and tastes test way too! There isn’t a real recipe, it’s more of a cook random veggies and throw in a bowl dish, but I’ll write it out fir anyone that wants to recreate it!

20140417-191240.jpg

Ingredients:
1 large eggplant
1 package pre-cut butternut squash
Kale (any amount I just filled up the pan)
Daiya cheese (any non-dairy or dairy cheese), optional

For the eggplant, I just cut it into cubes, spread the pieces on a baking sheet at 350 degrees for 35 minutes until soft. I use a little olive oil to cook, just to lightly coat the pieces. You can also add any of your favorite spices. My favorites to use are pepper, garlic, paprika and basil.

I do the same for the butternut squash, but without any spices. I like to sauté the kale on the stove with a tiny amount of olive oil ( sensing a theme?) and then add pepper! When everything is cooked I mix it all together in a bowl and add the dairy free cheese on top which melts into the kale and is just amazing! This was just what I needed it to be aka hearty, delicious, comforting, but healthy.

I am seriously obsessed with Trader Joes and any cool new product I can find. I poured their green olive tapenade on the dish and mixed it all together instead of a sauce. The beauty of this type of meal is that you can use any of your favorite products and customize it for yourself!

Leave a Reply

