Grab and Go Bars

I want to share my favorite grab and go bars that can live in your purse for when you’re hangry, running out the door in the morning, or just need some extra energy. I wasn’t sure what to call these because they’re not granola bars or protein bars. Energy bar might work since it’s purpose is to provide you with fuel to continue your day or eat post workout. I always try and choose ones with ingredients I know and no unnecessary ingredients.

20140512-103622.jpg

My first obsession will be Larabars. I love this and its the first non traditional granola brand that I tried. They are just the right amount of sweet, but with no added sugars. I love cherry pie, apple pie, and banana nut. They are basically all delicious!

 

The ingredients for cherry pie are: Dates, almonds, unsweetened cherries. That’s it! The apple pie ingredients are: Dates, almonds, unsweetened apples, walnuts, raisins, and cinnamon. Basically they combine all the best food into one bar!

20140512-103616.jpgI love these macrobars. I like having them if I am in a hurry or may have a long time period without eating. I’ll be traveling this weekend and plan on bringing this with me for sustained energy. This flavor combines my two favorites bananas and almond butter (could seriously live off of bananas and almond butter). These are double the size of Larabars so I eat these when I want something extra filling and long lasting.

The ingredients for banana and almond butter are: Organic brown rice syrup, organic almond butter, organic protein blend, organic bananas, organic puffed brown rice, organic sunflower seed, organic walnuts, organic coconut sugar, organic cinnamon, organic natural banana flavor.

20140512-103610.jpg

My last favorite I want to share is Health Warrior Chia Bars. These might be my absolute favorite. They are the perfect snack, give quick energy, but don’t ruin your appetite. I eat these more regularly than the other two and they have so many flavors! The ones I have today are coconut and banana nut.

Ingredients for coconut: white chia seeds, brown rice syrup, organic cashew butter, unsweetened coconut, gluten free rolled oats, organic agave syrup, organic brown rice crisps, almond meal, arabic gum, vanilla extract, organic flavor, sea salt, mixed natural vitamin E, sunflower oil.

From the ingredients you can tell Larabars are the most natural and ideal if  you really look for a whole foods approach to foods. These are all way better than the traditional granola bars that are still out there and filled with added sugar. It’s all about the ingredients, not the calories!

Happy Monday!

Leave a Reply

