My Weekly Variety: Overnight Oats Day 1

It’s day one of my overnight oats challenge! Last night I made a pretty standard combo of oats, chia seeds and almond milk. To switch things up I added coconut oil to the mixture.

 

20140616-071539.jpg

The coconut oil made it taste a little creamier, but there wasn’t an overwhelming coconut flavor. I topped my oats with half a sliced banana and some unsweetened coconut flakes to continue the coconut theme! Bananas and coconut work really well together in dishes because the banana is also naturally sweet and adds additional creaminess. I of course recommend using coconut t anything on Monday’s because you can pretend you’re on a tropical beach getaway, not on your way to school or work. My mixture came out pretty thick, if you like runnier oats you can add more almond milk when making it or right before serving. If you lovee your coconut and need more of that flavor you could also use coconut milk!

Coconut Overnight Oats

-1/3 cup old fashioned oats

-1 T chia seeds

-1/2 cup unsweetened vanilla almond milk

-1/2 T coconut oil

-1/2 banana

-unsweetened coconut flakes

-cinnamon

I combined the oats, chia seeds, milk, coconut oil and cinnamon and placed in a container (I used a bowl that came with a lid!) and let sit overnight. Then in the morning you can add your favorite toppings (I did bananas and coconut flakes).

Monday tip: Chia seeds absorb the liquid it’s in, so if you’re using chia seeds you can add extra liquid to make it a thinner consistency.

 

Leave a Reply

