WIAW| Overnight Oats Day 3

Its Wednesday which means it’s time for my second WIAW! I’m linking up with Peas and Crayons! Here are my eats from yesterday.

 

Peas and Crayons

20140617-070148.jpg

My favorite meal of the day is always breakfast! You will recognize this as my “oats of the day” from yesterday. I am obsessed with it and plan on making it more often. It’s more refreshing than normal overnight oats and you sneak some greens in there. Not pictured is my coffee and I always use unsweetened vanilla almond milk.

My eats during the day were smaller and more random because I literally spent the day in front of the computer working on a project for class.

20140617-180053.jpg

This right here is a very strange picture but I promise it’s cantaloupe! I forgot to take a picture and remembered just as I ate every last bit of it on this classy paper plate #keepingitreal. Nothing better than fruit, especially when doing work. I will leave my ode to fruit at that or we could be here all day talking about how refreshing and hydrating fruit is.

20140617-181610.jpg

I had a quick lunch of a sweet potato with sliced cucumbers, cherry tomatoes and cashews. I have been loving cashews lately! I give almonds so much of my attention it’s nice to switch things up with a different type of nut. Cashews add some healthy fat into this meal. I was going to add an egg on top of the sweet potato and then realized I didn’t have any so that never happened. I find sweet potatoes and eggs to be a very powerful combo in giving a lot of energy.

20140617-180341.jpg

While working I snacked on Navitas Naturals sliced dragon fruit. These are super chewy and great for those of you still holding on to fruit snacks! They are a great source of magnesium which doesn’t seem that common.

20140617-180353.jpg

Dinner time! I made quinoa with black beans, peppers, and onions. The onions were part of the veggie mixtures sliced, and diced with the beans. The beans were simmered in a pan with garlic, onions, and some water. The veggies were sauteed in coconut oil and turmeric. Turmeric is definitely my spice of choice lately. Just be careful when using it because it turns everything yellow, yes including you! My white nails now look like buttered popcorn. Not pictured is my going back into the kitchen to eat more of the veggies and I ended up eating carrots randomly with it too. I was basically at my computer all day and I’m about to search my house for some dark chocolate. Update: No luck with the chocolate so I ate a banana with almond butter! Trader Joes raw creamy unsalted of course!

_______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Now on to my oats of the day! This is a lunch overnight oats for you. I basically combined my two favorite things: Oatmeal and sweet potatoes. I thought I was going to make it more savory until I started adding blueberries and cinnamon. Always a fan of the sweet oats! I would love some savory oat recommendations!

20140618-064045.jpg

I like my oats to be thick, so if you like it thinner you can either make it with more liquid or pour more almond milk on top (if you use that) before eating it. I just love how easy it is to customize oats!

Sweet Potato Ovrernight Oats

1/2 cup old fashioned oats

1 sweet potato, cooked and mashed

1/2 cup of unsweetened vanilla almond milk (3/4 cup would probably be better)

Just cook the sweet potato, mash into  your oats and milk and let sit overnight! I added blueberries to mine the night before and piled on the cinnamon, but that can be done the morning of too. Enjoy!

 

 

Leave a Reply

