Thinking Out Loud| Oats Day 4

It’s time for another Thinking Out Loud hosted by Amanda over at Running with Spoons! Get ready for some rambling and then my oats of the day!

Thinking-Out-Loud

I’m kind of liking my own little overnight oats challenge! Life can get boring sometimes and when it does, why not choose to make it interesting? I guess for me that meant experimenting with oats all week and I am totally good with that! #oatmealloversunite. I am that person who has a different breakfast everyday, although I see the same breakfast crew pretty often: oatmeal, overnight oats, chia pudding, Ezekiel English muffins, almond butter, fruit, and smoothies. Sometimes Judy having one variation is enough to add some extra kick to your meals!

20140618-160405.jpg

Making connections. I just got a twitter! Hello extremely late to the bandwagon Ilana. Everyone and their jar of almond butter might have a twitter but I didn’t see the appeal until now. I love finding other bloggers, reaching out, and hopefully meeting new people. The only downside is there are way too many bogs I want to read and not enough time. If you want to come chat about food and life I’m @analiflow!

I have a strong chocolate craving going on. I could go and buy chocolate but that’s a lot of effort. It’s much easier to complain about my lack of chocolate. I want to hear about your favorite chocolate! I’m looking for some good recommendations. Requirements: dark chocolate, about 73%. Well now It sounds like a dating profile. Girl seeking a new brand of dark chocolate, still clinging to Trader Joes, must love almond butter.

Lesson: don’t blog when you don’t feel well weird things happen.

_____________________________________________________________________________

It’s oats time again! Day 4 of my oats challenge!

 

 

20140619-065203.jpg

This right here is overnight steel cut oats aka I still wanted to use old fashioned oats but ran out and didn’t buy more. I’m going with the flow more these days, so I just tweaked my plan and made some chocolate banana oats! So when you boil oats on the stove there’s a possibility they will boil over. I knew this. I knew you just have to lift up the pot and the liquid will subside. Again, I had a plan. Somehow I decided to go and mash the bananas somewhere else and next thing I know there’s an almond milk overflow. No oats were harmed in the process, and my kitchen was not harmed either. Safety first guys. Because of that, I didn’t end up cooking my oats as long as I wanted to but letting them sit overnight in the fridge helped them get softer and absorb all the liquid. These are chewy, way more chewy than oats. If chewy overnight oats is not your thing I would suggest sticking to old fashioned oats.

Chocolate Banana Overnight Steel Cut Oats

-1 cup steel cut oats

-2 cups water

-1 cup unsweetened vanilla almond milk

-2 small bananas, mashed (or 1 larger banana)

-cinnamon

-2 spoonfuls of raw cacao (I didn’t really measure)

My method is to let the water and milk boil, then add the oats and cook for a few minutes. Then I add in my extras like bananas, cinnamon, cacao, and then place in the refrigerator overnight!

Topping possibilities are endless! I just used Nuttzo and raisins, but more fruit, coconut, or nuts would also taste great!

 

3 thoughts on “Thinking Out Loud| Oats Day 4

  1. My chocolate cravings have been insanity lately. In fact, yesterday I contemplated just eating an entire bar for dinner and calling it good 😉 But yeah… Giddy YoYo is my absolute favourite brand, but I’m not sure if that’s a Canadian only thing? After that I really love Dagoba and Green & Black’s. Heck, at the end of the day, any chocolate is good chocolate 🙂

  2. Pingback: Overnight Oats Day 5| Parfait Style | A Look Through the Measuring Cups

Leave a Reply

