Foodie Pen-pals

It’s my second month doing the foodie pen pals started by The Lean Green Bean! It’s a fun program where you get paired with a foodie friend and send each other a food package! I got a fun package of snacks from my foodie pal Stephanie. I was very happy with my package!

Here is an overview of my box!

 

20140629-150819.jpg

20140629-150832.jpg

First in my box is a Nature’s Bakery fig bar! I’ve had the blueberry ones once before and loved them. They look like a better version of Fig Newtons. I like that these say they are made with stoned ground whole wheat. There are two in this package, I like taking one and bringing it with me on the go for a snack. So far the raspberry is my favorite flavor, but I also want to try mango and peach apricot. There are so many healthier versions of snacks out there on the market, I just want to try them all!

20140629-150903.jpg

My foodie friend made these delicious curry cashews. Right before I got my package and I started to eat more cashews. She was basically psychic. I think I’m most excited about these cashews because a) they were deliciousssss b) I loove my healthy fats c) curry. I’m honestly so surprised  I have some left and didn’t devour them the second I opened the box.

20140629-150845.jpg

She sent me this awesome berry mix including mulberries! I have read about mulberries for sooo long and freaked out a little when I realized I could finally try them. I believe this is mulberries, goji berries, and raisins. There may be others, but I can’t pick them out at this moment. Berry mix + cashews= perfect snack.

20140629-150914.jpg

I actually haven’t tried this yet. I know, insert a gasp emoji. It does look delicious! I love the fair trade and organic ingredients. Jam products usually get lost behind nut butters in my fridge but I promise I will use this somehow! It’s also blood orange and I do like orange flavored products, so it will happen.

20140629-150853.jpg

Last homemade item! Yogurt peanut clusters aka more nuts aka totally cool with that. You always see yogurt covered pretzels, but not nuts, so I applaud the creativity. It’s basically a dream for any of you salty sweet obsessed people! Homemade items are so fun to receive because its someone’s creation that they are sharing.

20140629-150921.jpg

Finally, some granola. I love granola, it sounds like I love a lot of things doesn’t it? Aloha blend sounded so tropical fun, I wish I was eating this on a tropical island or the beach. I’ve had Nature’s Path before so I knew the quality would be good. Granola is always a good option, especially with fruit in the summer.

Did any of you participate in Foodie Pen-pals? 

What is your favorite healthy snack to make yourself? 

 

 

 

 

 

7 thoughts on “Foodie Pen-pals

  1. Great post. Looks like an amazing box. I did Foodie PenPals this month. I got some great cheeses and olives (both of which I love). And that berry mix looks like the goji fruit mix I sent sent to my penpal.
    This was my first month doing the FPP but I loved it so much I’m starting my own spinoff. Running Mates. To share running/fitness inspired gifts. Check it out at https://runwright.net/2014/06/20/running-mates/

  2. What a creative package! I love that you got so many homemade goodies! The yogurt clusters look amazing, and so does that blood orange spread! yum! 🙂

Leave a Reply

