Stay Healthy, Stay Snacking

I’ve been meaning to do a snacking post, and now is that time! I used to think snacking was a bad idea, but after switching to a more plant based diet, I realized how important snacks are. I know I need that steady supply of energy to keep me motivated throughout the day.

Let’s get snacking!

1. Fruit

Fruit is my favorite snack especially in the summer. Words that come to mind: juicy, sweet, refreshing. My current favorites are cherries, plums and oranges. I also discussed my love of frozen fruit many many times here, and frozen mangoes are still my favorite evening snack. I love getting a mixture of fruits and snacking on those. You can also blend the fruit into a smoothie or make little fruit skewers!

2. Energy bars/bites

These are my go to snacks. I always have no bake bites in my freezer. I use mostly dates, cashews, walnuts, and raw cacao. I like ,one chocolate, but you can add raisins or goji berries for a different taste. Adding different consistencies will change the texture of the bites. Bananas are great for bars because it becomes most, as opposed to just using nuts and dates. I’m going to link some of my favorite recipes.

Favorite energy bars:

– Kind bar

– Larabar

– Health Warrior chia bar

– Go Macro macrobar

Recipes:

Banana Nut Protein Bars

Raw Raisin and Ginger Nut Bars

Superfood Hemp Protein Bars

 

3. Quick breads

Quick breads for me are banana bread, Muffins, etc. that only take 20-30 mins to make. I usually eat mine for breakfast, but are great for afternoon snacks and dessert. I usually end up making banana bread but there are so many flavor combinations.

Recipes:

Chocolate Chip Summer Squash Banana Bread 

Banana Spelt Muffins 

Lemon Poppy Seed Muffins 

 

4. Veggies and hummus

Such an easy snack if you have pre-cut veggies and hummus. The hummus can also be replaced with guacamole. The first veggies that come to mind are carrots, celery, tomatoes, cauliflower, and broccoli. I keep a bag of carrots around for when I feel like having a snack.

Hope this gives you some inspiration for your next snack craving! I also love trail mix and of course some dark chocolate. In other news I did the color run on Saturday and it was so much fun! I’ll do a little recap for you on Wednesday. I am so happy I did it, and will definitely do it gain next year. 

Leave a Reply

